OpenAI ยท Released September 8, 2026

GPT Image 2.5 AI Image Generator: Flare and Sunburst

OpenAI's gpt-image-2.5 ships as two models. Flare is the fast one, with about 50% lower latency than GPT Image 2. Sunburst is the base model tuned for precision. Generate and edit online, without watermark, at 4 credits per image on Aura AI.

4
Credits per Image
2
Variants: Flare, Sunburst
50%
Lower Latency (Flare)
Edit
1 Input Image

GPT Image 2.5 on Aura AI

MakerOpenAI
ReleasedSeptember 8, 2026
VariantsFlare, Sunburst
ModesText to image, image edit
Edit input1 image per request
OutputSize presets, no watermark
Credits4 per image or edit
PlanStarter, Pro, Premium

What is GPT Image 2.5?

GPT Image 2.5 is OpenAI's image generation and editing release of September 8, 2026, the successor to GPT Image 2 from April 2026. GPT Image 2.5 Flare (API id gpt-image-2.5-flare) is a small model optimized for speed: OpenAI rates its image quality as comparable to GPT Image 2 while cutting latency by about 50%. GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst (gpt-image-2.5-sunburst) is the base model optimized for quality, with higher image quality than GPT Image 2 and longer generation times, built for detailed creative work.

Both share the same generation of improvements: improved fidelity for more natural, recognizable images, better subject preservation in edits, consistent details across a chain of edits, and comment-based edits that change only what you ask for. In the API, OpenAI added two quality tiers above high, xhigh and max, an opaque background option, and custom sizes with a long edge up to 3,840 pixels, while keeping the token cost per image identical to GPT Image 2. At launch, Arena.ai reported Sunburst in first place and Flare in second across its text-to-image and image-edit leaderboards, ahead of GPT Image 2, on preliminary scores.

On Aura AI, GPT Image 2.5 runs in the text-to-image tool as Flare and Sunburst, each at a flat 4 credits per image, with size presets and several images per request. In the image editor, Flare Edit and Sunburst Edit take one input image and cost 4 credits per edit. Output is delivered without watermark, and the same credits work on Nano Banana 2, Seedream 5.0, FLUX 2 and the other 40+ models in the catalog.

Flare vs Sunburst: Which One to Pick

Same price on Aura AI, different trade-off between speed and precision

Feature GPT Image 2.5 Flare GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst
Model type Small model optimized for speed Base model optimized for quality
Speed About 50% lower latency than GPT Image 2 Longer generation times
Precision Quality comparable to GPT Image 2, with the 2.5 editing gains Higher quality than GPT Image 2, holds intricate detail
Best for Drafts, iterations, social visuals, batches of variations Final assets, product and packaging shots, detailed illustration
Arena rank at launch (reported) 2nd 1st
Credits on Aura AI 4 per image, 4 per edit 4 per image, 4 per edit
Rule of thumb: start with Flare to explore a brief, then rerun the prompt you like on Sunburst for the final render.

GPT Image 2.5 Capabilities and Specs

What the model does upstream and how it is exposed on Aura AI

Feature GPT Image 2.5 on Aura AI
ModesText to image (Flare, Sunburst), image edit (Flare Edit, Sunburst Edit)
Input images for edits1 per request
Output sizingImage size presets, chosen before generation
Images per requestMultiple images in one run
Text in imagesQuoted wording rendered where the prompt places it
Editing behaviorSubject preservation, consistent details across edits, comment-based edits
Quality levels (upstream API)auto, low, medium, high, xhigh, max
Custom sizes (upstream API)Long edge up to 3,840 px, edges in multiples of 16, ratio up to 3:1
Background (upstream API)auto, opaque, transparent
WatermarkNone
PlanStarter, Pro, Premium

What's New vs GPT Image 2

Six changes that separate gpt-image-2.5 from the April 2026 model

Two Models, One Line

GPT Image 2 was a single model. GPT Image 2.5 splits into Flare, the small model for speed, and Sunburst, the base model for quality, so you choose the trade-off per image.

Faster Generation

Flare delivers image quality comparable to GPT Image 2 with about 50% lower latency. That halves the wait between a prompt and the next revision.

Improved Fidelity

OpenAI describes the 2.5 generation as producing more natural, recognizable images, and Sunburst as higher quality than GPT Image 2 outright.

Consistent Details Across Edits

Chain several edits and the parts you did not touch stay put. Pass the previous output as the next edit input and subject, lighting and layout carry over.

Comment-Based Edits

Point at one thing and say what should change. GPT Image 2.5 applies the note to that part only and leaves the rest untouched.

New Quality Tiers and Backgrounds

In the API, two quality levels sit above high, xhigh and max, and background gains an opaque setting alongside transparent. The token cost per image stays identical to GPT Image 2.

How to Use GPT Image 2.5 on Aura AI

Four steps from prompt to image, or from a photo to a precise edit

  1. Open the Text to Image tool for a new image, or the Image Editor to change one of your own. Sign in with your Aura AI account.
  2. Pick GPT Image 2.5 Flare for speed or GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst for precision in the model selector (in the editor, Flare Edit or Sunburst Edit, with one input image). Choose an image size preset and how many images you want. The credit cost is shown before you generate.
  3. Write the brief the way OpenAI's prompting guide recommends: name the subject and its intended use, specify composition and placement, describe materials, lighting and colors, and put any required wording in quotes with its position. For an edit, say "change only X" and list the details to preserve.
  4. Generate, compare and download the image without watermark. Every result is saved to your history and can go back into the editor for the next pass, or into Image to Video to become a clip.

GPT Image 2.5 Pricing in Credits

Flat cost per image, no size multiplier

Variant Mode Credits per image Best for
GPT Image 2.5 FlareText to image4 creditsFast drafts, iterations, variations
GPT Image 2.5 Flare EditImage edit, 1 input4 creditsQuick precise edits with subject preservation
GPT Image 2.5 SunburstText to image4 creditsFinal assets, detailed creative work
GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst EditImage edit, 1 input4 creditsEdits where intricate detail must hold
GPT Image 2Text to image or edit4 creditsThe April 2026 model, for matching earlier work
GPT Image 1.5Text to image or edit2 creditsLowest-cost OpenAI drafts
Every GPT Image 2.5 variant is available on every plan: Starter ($14/mo), Pro ($59/mo) and Premium ($99/mo). Each plan includes a monthly credit allowance shared across all image and video models. Only successful generations are charged.

GPT Image 2.5 vs GPT Image 2 vs Nano Banana 2 vs Seedream 5.0

How the new OpenAI pair compares to its predecessor and the other flagship image models on Aura AI

Feature GPT Image 2.5 GPT Image 2 Nano Banana 2 Seedream 5.0
Maker OpenAI OpenAI Google DeepMind ByteDance
Release Sep 2026 Apr 2026 Feb 2026 Jul 2026 (5.0 Pro)
Variants Flare (speed), Sunburst (quality) Single model Nano Banana 2, Pro 5.0, 5.0 Pro
Credits, text to image 4 4 3 3
Credits, image edit 4 4 3 2 to 4
Fast variant Flare, about 50% lower latency No Not specified Not specified
Max resolution (upstream) 3,840 px long edge 3840 x 2160 4K 4K
Plan All plans All plans All plans All plans

GPT Image 2.5 FAQ

Common questions about Flare and Sunburst on Aura AI

GPT Image 2.5 Flare or Sunburst: which one should I pick? +
Pick Flare when speed matters: it is the small model optimized for latency, with quality OpenAI rates as comparable to GPT Image 2 and about 50% lower latency, so it suits drafts, iterations and batches of variations. Pick Sunburst when precision matters: it is the base model optimized for quality, with higher image quality than GPT Image 2 and longer generation times, so it suits final assets, product shots and detailed illustration. Both cost 4 credits per image on Aura AI, so the choice is about time and detail, not price.
Does GPT Image 2.5 edit images? +
Yes. Both variants have an edit mode on Aura AI: GPT Image 2.5 Flare Edit and Sunburst Edit, each at 4 credits with one input image per request. Upload a photo in the image editor, describe the change and say what must stay the same. GPT Image 2.5 improves precise editing and subject preservation over GPT Image 2 and supports comment-based edits that change only the part you point at.
How much does GPT Image 2.5 cost on Aura AI? +
GPT Image 2.5 Flare and Sunburst each cost 4 credits per image in text-to-image mode, and Flare Edit and Sunburst Edit each cost 4 credits per edit in the image editor. The cost is flat, with no size multiplier, and only successful generations are charged. For comparison, GPT Image 2 costs 4 credits, GPT Image 1.5 costs 2, Nano Banana 2 costs 3 and FLUX 2 costs 2.
What is new in GPT Image 2.5 compared with GPT Image 2? +
GPT Image 2.5, released on September 8, 2026, splits the line into Flare for speed and Sunburst for quality. Both bring faster generation, improved fidelity, consistent details across multiple edits and comment-based edits. In the API, OpenAI added the xhigh and max quality levels and an opaque background option, at the same token cost per image as GPT Image 2. At launch, Arena.ai reported Sunburst first and Flare second on its image leaderboards, on preliminary scores.
Which plan do I need to use GPT Image 2.5 on Aura AI? +
GPT Image 2.5 Flare, Sunburst and both edit variants are available on every Aura AI plan: Starter ($14/mo), Pro ($59/mo) and Premium ($99/mo). Each plan includes a monthly credit allowance shared across all image and video models, on web, iOS, Android and Windows, without watermark.

Generate GPT Image 2.5 Images Online

Flare for speed, Sunburst for precision, 4 credits per image, no watermark. Available on every plan, worldwide.